Skip to Main Content

Department Graduates Class of New Forest Wardens

Thirty Employees Trained for Education and Enforcement

Photo of graduates of Forest Warden training school. The Maryland Department of Natural Resources recently graduated a class of 30 new Forest Wardens, a special commission that authorizes employees to perform educational and enforcement activities. The warden training school was held at Wor-Wic Community College in Salisbury and attendees included current Maryland Forest Service employees ranging in years of service from four months to nine years. A graduation ceremony was held Oct. 3.

The Forest Warden commission provides employees the authority to perform their job functions under Natural Resources Title 5 in program areas ranging from State Forest Management, Wildfire Prevention and Suppression, Urban and Community Forestry, and Forest Stewardship activities.

“Our Forest Wardens are usually the first point of contact for Maryland citizens regarding forest laws and regulations,” Maryland Forest Service Director Don VanHassent said. “The guidance they provide helps avoid violations and situations that could lead to enforcement actions.”

Since Maryland Forest Service was founded by the 1906 Forestry Conservation Act, Forest Wardens have been charged with education and enforcement of Maryland’s forest protection laws and regulations. 

Forest Warden training graduates, by county of assignment, are:

Allegany County
Julie Conway, Forest Ranger
Adam Miller, Forester

Anne Arundel County
Justin E Arseneault, Forester

Baltimore County
Ryan Wetzel, Forest Ranger

Calvert County
Ryan Galligan, Forest Ranger

Carroll County
Katherine Garst, Forest Ranger,
Jamie K Weaver, Watershed Forester

Cecil County
Andy Kirk, Natural Resource Technician 

Charles County
Collin M. Sapp, Forest Ranger

Dorchester County
Gilbert C Wagner, Forest Ranger 

Frederick County
Dakota Durcho, Forester,
Matthew Spiroff, Natural Resource Technician
Sean Weaver, Watershed Forester

Garrett County
Timothy Cole, Forest Ranger
Patrick Gates, Forest Ranger
Sean L. Nolan, Asst. Forest Manager
Michael W. Johnson, Jr., Natural Resource Technician
Jeramie Foy, Maintenance Supervisor, Garrett County

Kent and Queen Anne’s counties
Brittany Haas, Natural Resource Technician

Harford County
Timothy S Ryan, Forest Ranger
Andrew D. Amoruso, Watershed Forester

Howard and Montgomery counties
Todd P. Douglass, Forest Ranger

Somerset and Worcester counties
Lucas Marcek, Project Manager

Washington County
Robert R. Schwartz, Forester

Wicomico County
Sergio Castillo, Forest Ranger,
Will M. Dyer, Forester
Jessica L Massey, Natural Resources Technician

Anne Gilbert, Tree-Mendous Maryland Coordinator
Colleen Kenny, Forest Health Watershed Planner
Francis Smith, Natural Resources Technician