Skip to Main Content

Teresa Beilstein Named 2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year

Statewide Winner is from Anne Arundel County

BALTIMORE – Teresa Beilstein, a teacher at South Shore Elementary School in Anne Arundel County Public Schools, tonight was named the 2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools, made the announcement at the 29th Annual Teacher of the Year Gala. The event attracted an audience of more than 1,000, including educators and dignitaries such as Comptroller Peter Franchot, Congressman Dutch Ruppersberger, and Congressman John Sarbanes.

Ms. Beilstein has taught elementary school since 2013 at South Shore Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate school. It was her first teaching position, after serving as an enrollment advisor for Walden University and a commercial relationship manager at SunTrust Bank.

She is a graduate of Walden University, earning both a Master of Arts in Teaching and a Master of Science in Organizational Psychology. She also attended Loyola College, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Economics in 2007. She holds an Advanced Professional Certificate in Early Childhood Education and Reading, and is nationally board certified as an Early Childhood Generalist.

She believes that teachers should always look for ways to engage their students’ attention and interest. “As teachers, we need to bring the content, bring the data, and bring the fun. Before students can be expected to learn, they need to be emotionally invested and it is my job, as an educator, to create the spark that will draw students in and get them involved.”

Governor Larry Hogan congratulated Maryland’s new Teacher of the Year.

“Maryland’s teachers are among the best, and they play a vital role in educating and inspiring the future leaders of our state and the country,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “I congratulate Teresa Beilstein and her family on this tremendous achievement and celebrate her win with the leadership, teachers, and students at South Shore Elementary School. Congratulations to all of the finalists, and thank you for everything you do to educate our youth and change Maryland for the better.”

Dr. Salmon stated: “Teresa has brought innovation and excitement to her students and the entire school community, creating a culture of excellence which extends beyond her classroom. She is truly an amazing teacher, who exhibits creativity and dedication to the profession and to her students. We are proud to celebrate her outstanding leadership, skills, and passion for education with this award tonight.”

Brigadier General (BG) Warner I. Sumpter (Ret.), president of the Maryland State Board of Education, applauded her on her honor.

“We are proud of the excellent teachers who work throughout Maryland, because they are the foundation of student success. Teresa Beilstein is an example of how students at every age can be transformed by someone who believes in their potential,” said BG (Ret.) Sumpter. “She represents the best of Maryland public education. The State Board congratulates Teresa on this honor, and we thank her for dedicating her professional life to serving the young people of Maryland.”

The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, parents, and higher education. Finalists were measured according to a rigorous set of national criteria that included student achievement, teaching philosophy, academic results, community involvement, and knowledge of education issues.

Selecting Ms. Beilstein for the award was a very difficult task for the judges. The other outstanding finalists were: Brandi Jason, Carroll County; Jossie Perry, Cecil County; Michael Franklin, Frederick County; Paige Milanoski, Harford County; Madeline Hanington, Montgomery County; and Joshua Edwards, Washington County.

The 2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year was announced at Martin’s West in Baltimore. The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a 2020 Buick Encore, donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association. Presenting sponsors of the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program are Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family Restaurants of Baltimore, Northrop Grumman Corporation, and SMART Technologies. Platinum sponsors are NTA Life, Maryland Public Television, and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company.

Ms. Beilstein will go on to compete for the National Teacher of the Year award, which will be announced next April. She will spend the upcoming year as a speaker and advisor in Maryland, and will join other state winners from across the United States in national meetings and events hosted by the National Teacher of the Year Program. In addition, she will be honored at the White House next spring.