Skip to Main Content

Blogs Categories:

Sign up to subscribe


Polls Open Sunday for State Board of Education Teacher Member Election

Updated: November 15, 2019

BALTIMORE, MD  – The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) has extended its statewide election to fill the newly-created teacher member position on the State Board of Education (SBOE). The voting period which began at 12:01am on Sunday, November 10th, will now run through November 22, 2019. Voting will close at 12:00 pm. Voters should follow the instructions listed on the MSDE website: Board of Education Teacher Member Election.

The individual who receives the most votes by the time polling ends on November 22th will have their name forwarded to the Governor for appointment to the SBOE. All teachers who hold an active teaching certificate, as of October 1, 2019, will be eligible to cast one vote in the election.

The nominees for this position are: Kristy Herring, Alethia McCullough, Rachel McCusker, Kenneth Nwocha, Crystal Owens, Kelsey Pope, Jason Ray, Monica Roebuck, Crystal Rufenacht, Melaney Sanchez, Morgan Showalter, Andrea Torres-Blue, and Michael VanDereedt.

The announcement of the election results will be posted on the MSDE website by December 23, 2019