Skip to Main Content

Joshua Carroll Named 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year

Statewide Winner is from Anne Arundel County

BALTIMORE  –  Joshua Carroll, a Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) teacher at Anne Arundel County’s South River High School, tonight was named the 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools, made the announcement at the 27th Annual Teacher of the Year Gala.  The event attracted scores of educators and dignitaries such as Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford, Former Senator Paul Sarbanes, and State Board member Dr. Michele Guyton.

2017-18 Teacher of the Year Joshua Carroll from Anne Arundel County

2017-18 MD Teacher of the Year Joshua Carroll from Anne Arundel County

Joshua has taught in Anne Arundel County for 18 years and has spent his career teaching at the high school level. His educational background includes a bachelor’s degree in English from Boston College. Joshua is also a member of the Principal’s Leadership Team and chairperson for the Student Recognition Committee at South River High School. He is the head cross country coach and assistant coach for track and field and serves on the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association committees for cross country, indoor track, and student leadership committees.

Each day, Joshua works to teach project-based learning to his students. “Education should be student-centered and engaging,” he said.  “Lessons, activities, and assessments should be structured to allow students to showcase their abilities while gaining valuable skills and content that are meaningful and relevant.”

Governor Larry Hogan and Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford congratulated Maryland’s new Teacher of the Year.

“Our top priority is ensuring that every Maryland child has access to a world-class education, and our teachers play an integral role in ensuring our students succeed,” said Governor Hogan. “I offer my sincerest congratulations to Joshua on this prestigious honor, as well as the other finalists whose hard work and dedication have a positive and lasting impact on our young people by helping to shape them into future leaders.”

“Our administration is committed to building a stronger workforce that exceeds the demands of the 21st century job market,” said Lt. Governor Rutherford. “With 18 years experience as a teacher having taught English, and currently teaching STEM, Joshua is an asset to South River High School, Anne Arundel County, and Maryland. I congratulate him on this important and well-deserved recognition.”

Joshua believes that student success is created through meaningful relationships. This is demonstrated in the connections he creates with his students that have withstood the test of time.

“The legacy that one leaves behind cannot solely be defined by individual accomplishments, but it is in his or her ability to inspire others to spread wisdom for a community that one becomes a legacy immortalized for every generation.” said Bryan Burns, a former English student of Carroll’s. “Josh Carroll became that legacy for me seventeen years ago as he embodies the values of a Teacher of the Year.”

Dr. Salmon said Joshua uses a personalized and enthusiastic approach to education that builds an interest in learning and promotes confidence in students.

“Joshua’s ability to recognize the contributions students make to their schools and communities builds positive morale school-wide,” Dr. Salmon said. “Through encouraging involvement in the community, his students gain experience outside of the classroom, creating real-word understanding and establishing key skills. His innovative and comprehensive teaching style is an example to educators everywhere.”

Selecting Mr. Carroll for the award was not an easy task for the judges.  The other outstanding finalists were: Justin Holbrook, Baltimore City; Dr. Thomas McHugh, Carroll County; Heather Roth, Garrett County; Amy E. Mangold, Harford County; Dr. Maddy Halbach, Howard County; Katie Fox, Talbot County.

The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, parents, and higher education. Finalists were measured against a rigorous set of national criteria that include teaching philosophy and results, community involvement, knowledge of general education issues, and suggestions for professional and instructional improvement.

The 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year was announced at Martin’s West in Baltimore. The winner receives cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a new Mini Cooper valued at more than $25,000, donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.

Mr. Carroll succeeds Athanasia (Sia) Kyriakakos, an Art teacher at Mergenthaler Vocational Technical Senior High School in Baltimore City, who was the 2016-2017 Maryland Teacher of the Year and a finalist for National Teacher of the Year.

Maryland has had a history of national success with its Teacher of the Year Program. In the last 11 years, Maryland has had five national finalists with three of them going on to become National Teachers of the Year.

Presenting sponsors of the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program are Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family of Maryland, and Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems. Platinum sponsors are BGE, Lockheed Martin, Maryland Public Television, NTA Life, and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company.

The selected Maryland Teacher of the Year will go on to compete for the esteemed National Teacher of the Year Award, to be announced next April. Maryland’s Teacher of the Year will also spend the coming year as an educational speaker and advisor in Maryland and will be honored by the President at the White House next spring.

# # #

Photo link: Joshua Carroll, Anne Arundel County 2017-18 Maryland Teacher of the Year

Maryland Teacher of the Year State Board Recognition on May 23, 2017

Maryland 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year