Skip to Main Content

Blogs Categories:

Sign up to subscribe


Annual Teacher of the Year Gala Held Friday, October 27

Gala Celebrates Its 27th Year, 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year To Be Announced

WHO: State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Karen Salmon
Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford
Senator Paul Sarbanes
24 Maryland Teachers of the Year
Educators from all 24 School Districts

WHAT: The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) will hold its 27th Annual Teacher of the Year Gala at Martin’s West in Baltimore. The gala will be held to honor the contributions of all 24 local Teachers of the Year and the winner of the 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced. The Maryland Teacher of the Year Finalists are: Justin Holbrook, Baltimore City; Dr. Thomas McHugh, Carroll County; Heather Roth, Garrett County; Joshua Carroll, Anne Arundel County; Amy E. Mangold, Harford County; Dr. Maddy Halbach, Howard County; Katie Fox, Talbot County.

WHERE: Martin’s West

6817 Dogwood Road
Baltimore, MD 21244

WHEN: Friday, October 27, 2017 5:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.

Teacher of the Year Award presentation expected at 9 p.m.


CONTACTS: Darla Strouse, 410-767-0369, Samantha Foley, 410-767-0482

MSDE Media Relations

Bill Reinhard, 410-767-0486

Samantha Foley, 410-767-0482

Kelly Manley, 410-767-0370