Skip to Content Accessibility Information

Maryland Department of the Environment

Departments of Environment, Natural Resources and Maryland Petroleum Council present 39th Annual Tawes Awards for a Clean Environment


Jay Apperson

(410) 537-3003

Adrienne Diaczok

(410) 537-3003

Departments of Environment, Natural Resources and Maryland Petroleum Council present 39th Annual Tawes Awards for a Clean Environment

Tawes and Coulter Awards recognize outstanding environmental achievements of individuals, groups and government employees

Annapolis, MD (May 23, 2016) – The Maryland Departments of the Environment, Natural Resources and Maryland Petroleum Council today presented the 39th annual Tawes Awards for a Clean Environment to Timothy Junkin of Easton and Clarksville Middle School student Bill Tong. Meredith Andrasik, an employee of Maryland Military Department’s Environmental Office, was honored with the 11th annual James B. Coulter Award.

More Information:
The awards are co-sponsored by the Departments of Environment and Natural Resources and the Maryland Petroleum Council to recognize youth, adults, and private and public organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland’s natural resources. The Tawes award, given to both adult and youth awardees, is named in honor of J. Millard Tawes, governor of Maryland from 1959 to 1967 and first secretary of Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources. The James B. Coulter Award, named after Maryland’s second Natural Resources Secretary, acknowledges environmental contributions by a government employee.

Winner Information:

Bill Tong, Clarksville Middle School, Howard County, MD: Tawes Youth Award Winner

Bill Tong developed a fishery science education program for Clarksville Middle School. By creating community partnerships and recruiting his fellow classmates to participate, the project has helped raise rainbow trout to stock the Patuxent River this spring. Bill plans to share his program with other middle schools in Howard County to educate students on ecology, waste reduction, environmental beautification and our local watersheds.

Timothy Junkin, Midshore Riverkeeper Conservancy, Easton, MD:  Tawes Adult Award Winner

In less than eight years, the Midshore Riverkeeper Conservancy, conceived by Timothy Junkin, has grown to a team of advocates working at every level to reduce pollution entering local waterways, and restore and protect the rivers of the Eastern Shore’s Midshore region. Under Tim’s leadership, Conservancy staff, numerous experts, community members, and volunteers are aggressively restoring and preserving rivers.

Meredith Andrasik, Maryland Military Department, Environmental Office: Coulter Award Winner

In addition to her assigned duties, Meredith Andrasik takes on the work of deployed staff members. She has coordinated the repair, replacement and reporting of all Maryland National Guard above-ground and underground storage tanks. She also has implemented a closed loop used oil recycling program at Maryland National Guard facilities statewide.


“Our award winners inspire us all to prevent pollution and preserve the health and beauty of Maryland’s watersheds and communities.”

— Ben Grumbles, Secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment

“It’s promising to know that we’ll continue to see a positive change in our environment through the observations and actions of conservation-minded Marylanders like those before us today. Better still, whether they know it or not, their passion also serves as an inspiration to others ─ their friends, family, communities, even those they may not know ─ to become better stewards.”

— Mark Belton, Secretary, Maryland Department of Natural Resources

“The Maryland Petroleum Council has enjoyed working with the Department of the Environment and the Department of Natural Resources for 39 years acknowledging Maryland citizens for their environmental stewardship.  All of today’s recipients deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions to protecting Maryland’s natural resources.”

— Drew Cobbs, Executive Director, Maryland Petroleum Council


View images from today’s event on MDE’s Flickr page.

Additional Information:

J. Millard Tawes
James B. Coulter
Past Tawes Award Winners

MDE Mission:
To protect and restore the environment for the health and well-being of all Marylanders.