League of Conservation Voters Honors Governor Martin O’Malley for Climate Change Vision


Governor O’Malley at this year’s Climate Change Summit

The Maryland League of Conservation Voters presented Governor Martin O’Malley with its inaugural Climate Visionary Award this evening, recognizing his unsurpassed leadership in creating and adopting programs to help Marylanders combat and adapt to the effects of climate change. 

“I want to thank the Maryland League of Conservation Voters for this extraordinary honor, and for their tireless efforts in keeping environmental issues front and center among our citizens and our elected officials,” said Governor O’Malley. “It is in large part because of your commitment and partnership that Maryland has earned a reputation as an innovator in the climate change arena, and that we will meet our moral obligation to leave our children and grandchildren a healthier planet, and a greener, more sustainable economy.”

Governor O’Malley also congratulated his co-honorees of the evening, Delegate Maggie McIntosh, who was named Legislator of the Year, and Dru Schmidt-Perkins, recipient of the John V. Kabler Memorial Award.

“As Chair of the House Environmental Matters committee, Maggie McIntosh has committed herself to serving our State and our citizens, shepherding critical legislation to protect our air, our water and our land,” said Governor O’Malley.  “And, for nearly three decades,  Dru Schmidt-Perkins has led the grassroots fight to foster smart growth, clean energy and other significant environmental efforts.  It is an honor to be recognized alongside these great environmentalists and advocates for a more sustainable Maryland.”photo

The new Climate Visionary Award was created by the League’s Board of Directors to be given at its discretion to acknowledge an individual, group or organization whose work moves Maryland significantly forward in the fight against climate change.  The award recognizes the Governor for his leadership in Maryland’s fight against climate change, which led the State to:

“In this key election year, the Maryland League of Conservation Voters is pleased to acknowledge the tremendous efforts of our three awardees in protecting, preserving and enhancing Maryland’s environment,” said Executive Director Karla Raettig. “The addition of the Climate Visionary Award this year is an exciting development in our ongoing efforts to raise the profile of the climate change issue to Maryland voters.”

photo (1)The League’s Environmental Leadership Awards annual dinner took place in Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium Banquet Room in Annapolis. The event was attended by more than 300 people, including Lt. Governor Anthony Brown, Attorney General Doug Gansler, current EPA Deputy Administrator Bob Perciasepe, former EPA Administrator Carol Browner, Comptroller Peter Franchot, and elected officials and conservation-minded leaders from across the State.

For more information on Maryland’s climate change adaptation efforts, visit dnr.maryland.gov/climatechange/.

For nearly 35 years, the Maryland League of Conservation Voters has been the non-partisan strategic and political voice of the environment in Maryland. The League helps elect leaders who are committed to conservation and reducing the effects of climate change, and hold those leaders accountable for their actions through its annual scorecard.  In 2008, the group awarded Governor O’Malley an A- for his environmental policies ─ the first A in the group’s history.