Skip to Main Content

Blogs Categories:

Sign up to subscribe


Individuals, Teams, Schools Honored for Commitment to Safety

2016-17 Maryland School Safety Awards Presented

BALTIMORE – The Maryland Center for School Safety this week presented awards to leaders, teams, and law enforcement professionals that have put a special focus on student safety.

The 2016-17 awards winners are:

School Safety Administrator of the Year Award

• Principal Kristy Snyder, Glendale Elementary School, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

• Principal Helen Shaken, Brooklyn Park Middle School, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

School Safety Administrator and Law Enforcement Supervisor of the Year Award

• Andrew Turner, Coordinator of Safe Schools, Wicomico County Public Schools

• Sergeant Dave Owens, Supervisor School Resource Officer Unit, Wicomico County Sherriff’s Office

School Safety Team of the Year Award

• Oakland Mills High School – Howard County Public Schools; Principal Katherine Orlando;
Security Assistant Richard Cumby; School Resource Officer Kiron Harrisson, Howard County Police

• Chopticon High School – St. Mary’s County Public Schools – Assistant Principal Marc Priner;
School Resource Officer Corporal Andrew Holton, St. Mary’s County Sheriff Office

• Ivymount School (Private School – Montgomery County) – Lee-Nadine Oppenheim, Director of Finance and Operations, Ivymount School; Michael Harting, Montgomery County Public Schools, Department of School Safety/Security; Officer Michael Prather, Montgomery County Police; Officer Laurie Reyes, Montgomery County Police

School Safety/Security Director of the Year Award

• Duane Williams, Carroll County Public Schools

• F. Michael Wyant, St. Mary’s County Public Schools

• Steve Ganley, Washington County Public Schools

• H. Stephen Price, Worcester County Public Schools

Private Schools

• Bradd Atkinson, Roland Park Country School

• Lee-Nadine Oppenheim, Ivymount School

School Resource Officer of the Year Award

• Corporal Kristi Nelson, School Resource Officer, St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office

School Safety Superintendent and Law Enforcement Executive of the Year Award

• Dr. D’Ette W. Devine, Superintendent of Schools, Cecil County Public Schools; Sheriff Scott A. Adams, Cecil County Sheriff’s Office

• Dr. Donna C. Hanlin, Superintendent of Schools, Wicomico County Public Schools; Sheriff Michael A. Lewis, Wicomico County Sheriff’s Office; Captain Babe Wilson, Wicomico County Sheriff’s Office

• J. Scott Smith, Superintendent of Schools, St. Mary’s County Public Schools; Sheriff Tim Cameron, St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office

School Safety Outstanding Service Award

• Douglas Steel, Montgomery County Public Schools, Department of School Safety/Security

• Stanley Peet, Montgomery County Public Schools

• Pamela Bowles, Maryland State Police

• John Wilhelm, Maryland State Police

• Captain Holly Barrett, Maryland State Police

• Assistant Attorney General Dawn P. O’Croinin, Attorney General’s Office of Maryland

• Corporal Jon Carrier, School Resource Officer, Anne Arundel County Police Department

The Maryland Center for School Safety held its 2017 School Safety Summer Conference in Annapolis this week. The two-day conference featured presentations, discussions and experiences all in the name of improving school safety.

The Maryland Center for School Safety is an independent unit of State government established to provide a comprehensive, coordinated approach to school safety for the State’s schools. The Center coordinates its work with the Maryland State Police, MSDE and other agencies.