Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘WMA’


Boating Restrictions in Effect at Deal Island and Fairmount WMAs this Hunting Season

Flock of ducksThe use of motorized boats, except those powered by electric motors, will again be prohibited at the Deal Island and Fairmount Wildlife Management Area (WMA) impoundments this hunting season, October 1 through March 31. DNR established the regulation last year to make these areas more appealing to birds, thus creating a better hunting area.  Read more »


DNR Welcomes Public Input for Proposed Regulations on Wildlife Management Areas

Old Bohemia WMA

The Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is currently seeking public input on proposed regulations that govern the use of Maryland’s Wildlife Management Areas (WMA). Many of these proposals are administrative in nature, such as updating acreage and outdated regulations, and adding newly acquired properties.  Read more »


Crownsville Cooperative Wildlife Management Area Opens to Hunting

The Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has opened a new deer hunting area in Anne Arundel County. The 546 acre Crownsville Cooperative Wildlife Management Area (CWMA) will open for regulated deer hunting beginning on Nov 26, 2012 and running through Jan 31, 2013.  Deer hunting only is permitted at Crownsville CWMA. The program will follow established season dates and bag limits found in the 2012-2013 Guide to Hunting and Trapping in Maryland.

The new program is designed to provide managed-access to the site through a partnership with DNR and Anne Arundel County Parks. Anne Arundel County Parks acquired this property in 2009. At that time, the Maryland Board of Public Works required development of a CWMA as a mandatory condition of the transfer.

Read more »


Bidding Opens for Trapping Privileges on Select Lower Eastern Shore Properties

Photo by: John White

The Maryland Department of Natural Resources is currently accepting bids for the 2012-2013 trapping season for Johnson Wildlife Management Area (WMA), Janes Island State Park, Hickory Point Natural Heritage Area and all Somerset and Worcester County WMAs. 

Read more »