Skip to Main Content

NRP Honors Officers, Promotes 25 in Annual Awards Ceremony

NRP Officers at Annual Awards Ceremony

NRP Officers at Annual Awards Ceremony
L-R: Sgt. Charles Simmons, Cpl. Rick Starliper, Officer First Class James Seward and Senior Officer Hubert Brohawn III

The Maryland Natural Resources Police promoted 25 officers and recognized the outstanding work of two dozen other officers and allied agencies at its annual awards ceremony Thursday night, April 17, at Chesapeake College.

“Your service, your commitment, your dedication make all of us proud to call ourselves Marylanders,” said Gov. Martin O’Malley in a recorded address. “Every time you put on your uniforms and walk out the door, you do so in order to serve our citizens and you personify the core values of the NRP: Integrity, dedication, professionalism and courtesy.”

Cpl. Rick Starliper of NRP’s Southern Region (Drayden), was named 2013 Officer of the Year and  Eastern Region Officer James Seward (Stevensville) was named Conservation Officer of the Year. For the second consecutive year, Senior Officer Hubert Brohawn III of the Central Region (Baltimore) was named Boating Safety Officer.

In addition, Sgt. Charles Simmons (King George, Virginia) was selected as Park Service NRP Officer of the Year for his work in the Southern Region.

“It is simply a pleasure to serve with all of you,” DNR Secretary Joseph P. Gill said in his remarks. “Your passion for what you do, your expertise and your proactive work on behalf of Maryland’s natural resources are to be commended.”

Starliper, who joined the department in 1987, was honored for his enforcement efforts, including several cases where he apprehended poachers stealing from oyster sanctuaries. He also was lauded for being a mentor to newer officers.

“Corporal Starliper has a passion to catch a poacher and do whatever is necessary,” the nomination said. “His accomplishments occurred whether he was working in the field or afloat on Maryland’s waterways.”

Starliper also was honored as Wildlife Officer of the Year by the Shikar-Safari Club International.

Seward, a three-year veteran of NRP, was recognized for his initiative and diligence in enforcing natural resources law–from waterfowl violations and crabbing offenses to illegal oyster dredging and hunting trespassers.

“His knowledge of conservation practices is well-rounded and extensive,” the nomination said. “His natural curiosity and willingness to step outside the box makes him unafraid to approach any task at hand.”

Brohawn, who joined the department in 2002, was lauded for his collaborations with allied agencies while patrolling the waters of Baltimore City and Baltimore County. He volunteered for saturation patrols during high-traffic periods and worked surveillance details to help catch intoxicated boaters.

“The number of violations documented, his high number of OWI cases as well as his frequent visible patrol presence has played a role in making waterways safer in Maryland,” the nomination said.

Sgt. Mel Adam (Elkton) received a Superintendent’s Award of Merit for organizing a 200-member volunteer search party to find a 78-year-old woman while he was on a family vacation in Georgia last July.

“Sgt. Adam stayed with us for the entire day and basically shaped the search in a way that led to her safe recovery,” wrote Becky Alexander, the elderly woman’s daughter. “What he did that day, on vacation, was save a lady’s life.”

Cpl. Dan Yankie (Montgomery Village) received a Superintendent’s Award of Merit for helping to rescue an injured MontgomeryCounty woman last December who was thrown from her horse and suffered severe head injuries.

“Corporal Yankie demonstrated great initiative, attention to his duties above and beyond agency expectations and in doing so, saved the life of a citizen,” his nomination said.

Sgt. Scott Simmons of the Eastern Region received a Superintendent’s Award of Merit for his work rescuing coastal residents during Hurricane Sandy.

For aiding a fellow member of the NRP dive team who was suffering medical distress during underwater training, Sgt. Walt May received a Superintendent’s Award of Merit.

Other awards:

Superintendent’s Commendation

Sgt. Tracy Campbell (Easton)

Sgt. Brent Trautman (Havre De Grace)

Officer John Chatham (Salisbury)

Officer First Class Elizabeth Tyler (Seaford, Del.)

Officer First Class Gregory Jilek (Hagerstown)

Officer First Class Andrew Wilson (Rhodesdale)

Certificate of Appreciation

NRP Area 5, District 3

Humane Society of the United States

Barry Salter

Sgt. Diane Roschli (White Hall)

PCO Erica Smith (Pasadena)

NPS Ranger Craig Riscutto (Assateague Island)

U.S. Coast Guard, Station Curtis Bay

Agency Promotion to Sergeant

David Bailey (Mechanicsville)

Cameron Brown (Glen Burnie)

Tracy Campbell (Easton)

William Davis (Westminster)

Michael Friend (Keyser, WV)

Timothy Grove (White Hall)

Jerry Henshaw (Elkton)

Jeffery Herndon (Clear Spring)

James Johnson (Odenton)

Kenneth Layman (Snow Hill)

Walt May (Westernport)

Catherine Peck (Prince Frederick)

Roy Rafter (Ingleside)

Diane Roschli (White Hall)

April Sharpeta (Joppatowne)

Scott Simmons (Berlin)

Jefferey Sweitzer (Swanton)

Brent Trautman (Havre de Grace)

Mark Trindel (Stevensville)


Agency Promotion to Lieutenant

Harry Cage (Flintstone)

John Massey (Berlin)

Brain Rathgeb (Owings)

Melissa Scarborough (Pasadena)


Agency Promotion to Captain

Christopher Sherman (Upper Marlboro)


Agency Promotion to Major

Gerald Kirkwood (Monkton)