Skip to Main Content

Recreation Areas in Carroll, Frederick and Garrett Counties to See Enhancements

People biking a trail in the fall Recreational areas in Carroll, Frederick and Garrett counties will soon receive funding for upgrades through Program Open Space. Governor Martin O’Malley and the Board of Public Works approved the projects at yesterday’s meeting in Annapolis. 

“Whether playing outside with our children, taking a hike with friends, or connecting with nature one-on-one, Program Open Space continues to create and enhance places where we can enjoy the great outdoors,” said Governor O’Malley. “In fact, every Marylander lives within 15 minutes of a local Program Open Space funded recreational facility.”

Carroll County will receive $99,900 to upgrade the aging playground at Piney Run Park with equipment and safety surfacing consistent with Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and National Program for Playground Safety standards.

Frederick and Carroll counties will receive a total of $54,240 to acquire approximately seven acres in Frederick County for a Monocacy River boat access/launching point. This is the first Program Open Space partnership project of its kind between Frederick and Carroll counties.

Garrett County will receive $33,300 to upgrade two tennis courts at Southern High School with new surfacing and fencing.

Under the leadership of Governor O’Malley, the Board of Public Works has approved funding for 1,318 recreational projects, including Community Parks & Playgrounds, totaling more than $353 million through local-side Program Open Space since 2007.

Since 1969, Program Open Space has provided funding for the State to preserve 365,639 acres for open space and recreation areas. Of this, 44,598 acres nearly 12 percent ─ has been preserved within the past seven years under the O’Malley-Brown Administration. Most Maryland residents live within 15 minutes of an open space or recreational area funded by Program Open Space. A video showing the direct benefits of Program Open Space can be viewed here.

The three-member Board of Public Works is comprised of Governor O’Malley (chair), Treasurer Nancy Kopp and Comptroller Peter Franchot. The BPW is authorized by the General Assembly to approve major construction and consultant contracts, equipment purchases, property transactions and other procurement actions.