Skip to Main Content

Recreational Projects in Caroline, Garrett, Harford, Washington and Wicomico Counties to See Enhancements

Glen Outing by Steve Harman

Recreational Projects in Caroline, Garrett, Harford, Washington and Wicomico counties will soon receive funding for necessary upgrades and additions through Program Open Space. Lt. Governor Anthony Brown and the Board of Public Works approved the projects at today’s meeting in Annapolis.

“Program Open Space provides Marylanders with easily accessible outdoor recreation and it ensures these play spaces and natural areas are available future generations to enjoy,” said Lt. Governor Brown.

Caroline County will receive:

  • $26,200 to acquire two neighboring waterfront lots, totaling approximately a half-acre, to add to the existing Hillsboro boat launch. Located south of Tuckahoe State Park, the landing is a key public access point on the upper Tuckahoe River and will ensure the land associated with the ramp and the surrounding shoreline, remains available for public use.


  • $21,863 to resurface and restripe the worn tennis courts at Martin Sutton Park. The project will also establish handicapped parking spots with a paved path leading to the lot, and a tennis backboard for single-play use and skill development.


  • $37,000 to fund some of the renovations that will make Ober Community Park an all-inclusive playground facility. The facility will feature new play elements, safety surfacing, and an easily-accessible pathway. The upgrades will make the park more enjoyable, ensure it is handicapped-accessible, and broaden the appeal for both children and adults.

Garrett County’s town of Oakland will receive $31,500 for to improve Broadford Lake Park. Funding will be used to install a handicapped-accessible walkway for pavilion number five, create additional parking for the little league field, and add safety lighting along the entrance road.


Harford County will receive $149,436 as additional reimbursement funding to acquire two parcels of land, totaling 28 acres, with frontage on MD 23 adjacent to the Rural Village of Jarrettsville.

This site will host an indoor recreation facility with open parkland. The land is well suited for the development of this facility, as it lies less than a quarter-mile from the Jarrettsville Recreation Complex and Jarrettsville Elementary School.

The existing structures will be used as offices, storage space and maintenance buildings. The 2.5-acre farm pond will provide for passive recreation opportunities. Over several fiscal years, the total amount of eligible Program Open Space assistance requested for this project will be $1,324,000.

Washington County’s town of Funkstown will receive $49,500 to upgrade the entrance to the 34-acre Funkstown Community Park. Improvements include road repair and drainage upgrades, new fencing, and new frontage on the maintenance building.

Wicomico County will receive an additional $58,500 to renovate the five-acre parking lot at the former Salisbury Mall to serve as parking for the Salisbury City Park and Zoo, Wicomico County Stadium and the Wicomico Youth and Civic Center. The project’s scope entails installation of a tree-scape, stormwater management measures, and safety lighting. Engineering services evaluated the site to determine the best stormwater management measures. These include porous materials, rain gardens and bio-retention technology. Funds totaling $705,000 were previously approved by the Board of Public Works on the Secretary’s Agenda.

Under the leadership of Governor O’Malley, the Board of Public Works has approved funding for 1,203 recreational projects, including Community Parks & Playgrounds, totaling more than $330 million through local-side Program Open Space since 2007.

Since 1969, Program Open Space has provided funding for the State to preserve 362,944 acres for open space and recreation areas. Of this, 41,903 acres more than 10 percent ─ have been preserved within the past 5 years under the O’Malley-Brown Administration. Most Maryland residents live within 15 minutes of an open space or recreational area funded by Program Open Space. A video showing the direct benefits of Program Open Space can be viewed here.

The three-member Board of Public Works is comprised of Governor O’Malley (chair), Treasurer Nancy Kopp and Comptroller Peter Franchot. The BPW is authorized by the General Assembly to approve major construction and consultant contracts, equipment purchases, property transactions and other procurement actions.