Chesapeake Bay Trust Honors DNR Secretary Griffin
Skip to Main Content

Chesapeake Bay Trust Honors DNR Secretary Griffin

DNR Secretary John Griffin (far right) with all of the Chesapeake Bay Trust's 2013 award winners.

DNR Secretary John Griffin (far right) with the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s 2013 award winners and members.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust presented Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Secretary John R. Griffin with the Dr. Torrey Brown Award for his exceptional leadership in protecting and enhancing the Chesapeake Bay and Maryland’s natural world at its annual award ceremony on January 24 in Annapolis.

“I am honored and humbled to receive the Dr. Torrey Brown Award, named after my former boss, mentor and great friend,” said Secretary Griffin. “Our work to restore the health of the Bay can’t be done alone; so I accept this award on behalf of all my dedicated colleagues at the Department of Natural Resources who labor in the vineyards day in and day out to do their part in restoring the Bay and its living resources.”

Appointed secretary of DNR in 2007, throughout his tenure  Griffin has worked with the Chesapeake Bay Trust on a number of partnerships, including the Trust’s Chesapeake Conservation Corps Program, Living Shorelines Grant Program, and Watershed Assistance Grant Program. The award was created in honor of one of the Trust’s founding board members, Dr. Torrey Brown, who was also a secretary of DNR.

More than 150 Chesapeake Bay supporters along with members of the Maryland General Assembly gathered to honor and celebrate the Trust’s 2013 award winners for their contributions to environmental education, Bay restoration and citizen stewardship. Launched in 1998, the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Annual Awards Program, honors six exceptional teachers, students and individuals with various awards/scholarships.